Campbell: Gibbons, Resnikoff re-elected; Bybee takes third council seat

By Khalida Sarwari

Campbell voters re-elected two incumbents and a former city clerk to the City Council Tuesday night, according to unofficial election results.

Councilwoman Liz Gibbons, Mayor Paul Resnikoff and former city clerk Anne Coyne Bybee led the field of five candidates competing for three seats.

With 25.81 percent of the vote, Gibbons won a second term to carry out the work she first started as a planning commissioner. The longtime Campbell resident is a licensed architect who has embraced new technologies to help solve the housing crisis.

For Resnikoff — who collected 22.37 percent of the vote — safety, fiscal responsibility and neighborhood street improvements are among his highest priorities. He has expressed interest in seeking regional cooperation to solve transportation and housing problems.

Coming in third with 20.91 percent of the vote was Bybee, who will now get a taste of the other side of the dais. Bybee retired from her position as city clerk in 2015 after 28 years and started pursuing a council run, touting her institutional knowledge of the city. She has indicated that when considering development projects, traffic would be a significant factor in her decision-making.

Challengers Anne Souza and Daraius Sorabji trailed behind with 18.68 percent and 12.23 percent of the vote, respectively.

Voters also passed Measure O on the ballot to raise $50 million for a new police station and emergency operations center as well as a modernized, seismically-safe library. The initiative, which received 67.99 percent yes votes, is a general obligation bond measure that will increase commercial and residential property owners’ bills by $19 for every $100,000 of assessed value.

Campbell: Gibbons, Resnikoff re-elected; Bybee takes third council seat


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *